WIUC-Ghana is governed by a Governing Council and an Academic Board.
The composition of the Governing Council is as follows:

  • Four representatives of shareholders, one of whom is the Chairman of the Council
  • The Principal
  • One representative of the University of Ghana
  • One representative of the University of Cape Coast
  • One representative of all other affiliate organisations
  • One representative of Alumni
  • One individual invited by the Principal (in consultation with the shareholders) in their own capacity.
  • The SRC President

The following Boards / Committees serve under the Council.

  • One representative of the staff of WIUC-Ghana
  • Academic Board
  • Appointments and Promotions Board
  • Finance Committee
  • Planning and Development Committee

* The membership and functions of the various Boards and Committees are defined by the Statutes of the University.


Dr. Emmanuel Owusu Chairman
Justice Isaac Duose Member
Prof. Obeng Mireku
Mr. Thomas Baafi Member
Mr. Frank Yeboah Member
Mr. Jacob Fynn Member


Justice I. D. Duose Council Chairman
Rev. Dr. Paul Fynn Chancellor
Prof. Obeng Mireku
Vice Chancellor
Mr. Nicholas S. K. Appiah Member
Prof. Dora Edu Buandoh Member
Prof. E. Debrah Member
Dr. Joseph Mensah-Ansah Member
Dr. Lawrence A. Kannae Member
Dr. Joe Taabazuing Member
Mrs. Ivy Adjei Nketiah Member
Mr. Robert Schonpflug Member
Ms. Bridget Bonnie SRC Rep.
Mr. Jacob Fynn Member
Mr. Frank K. Yeboah Registrar/Secretary

Principal Officers

Prof. Obeng Mireku
Vice Chancellor
Mr. Frank Yeboah Registrar

Deans and Librarian

Prof. Kwame Karikari Dean, School of Communication Studies
Prof. Emmanuel Quansah Dean, Faculty of Law
Dr. Albert Gemegah Dean, Graduate School
Dr. Emmanuel Acquah Sam Dean, Faculty of Humanities & Social Studies
Dr. George Ofori - Dwumfuor Dean, School of Computing & Information Technology
Mr. Mamadou L. Diedhiou Dean, Business School
Mrs. Loretta Sylvia Tetteh Dean of Students
Mrs. Angela K. Acheampong
Ag. Dean, Nursing School
Mrs. Theresa Adu Librarian

Heads of Department (Academic)

Dr. Shine Gbedemah Quality Assurance & Institutional Affiliation
Dr. George Asante Yeboah Center for Continuous and Professional Education  (Adult Education)
Dr. George Akorfu Business Computing
Mr. Nathaniel Mills Ag. HOD Information Technology
Amb. Kabral Blay-Amihere Communication Studies
Mrs Emelia Amoako - Asiedu
Management Studies
Dr. Akwesi Addae Mensah
General Business
Dr. Patrick Ocloo Seshie Accounting and Finance
Mr. Charles Acheampong Extra Mural Studies
Mr. Dennis Soku General Studies Depattment
Mrs. Ama Gaines Career Services Center
Mr. Leonard Kyei Mathematics Application
Mrs. Margaret Ansere Examinations Officer
Mr. Moses Azameti City Campus Co-ordinator
Mr. Joseph Gyimah Evening School Co-ordinator
Mr. Elias Megbetor Coordinator, Weekend School

Administrative Departments

Mr. Jacob Fynn Chief Operating Officer
Ms. Samira Adam Director of Finance
Mrs. Victoria Chimbwanda Director, Public Affairs & Marketing
Mr. Ebenezer Kow Amuasi Director, International Relations
Mr. Joel Idun-Acquah Deputy Registrar (Academic Affairs)
Mrs. Patience L. Bainson Human Resource Department
Mr. Edwin Agbah
Ag Head, IT Support