Wisconsin has hosted church leaders from eight churches from the East Legon, Legon and Madina areas. The visit was aimed at engaging and deepening the institution’s relations with community leaders.

Churches represented were Agape House, St Thomas Aquinas Catholic Church, First Love Church (Lighthouse Chapel International) and Legon Interdenominational Church all from Legon/East Legon.
Queen of Peace Catholic Church and Winners Chapel International, both from Madina, as well as Trinity Baptist Church were also represented.

Speaking on behalf of the Acting Vice Chancellor, Wisconsin’s Registrar Mr Frank Yeboah said: “From time to time we, as an institution, host such events. The aim is to get to know each other as members of the same community, to enhance relations between the institution and community leaders, and to dialogue on ways in which we can collectively impact our community positively.”

Mr Yeboah added that Wisconsin’s investment in its students goes beyond formal classroom learning and includes spiritual enrichment and character building.

As such, the institution has blocked out time for a mid-week Christian service attended by management, lecturers, staff and students. He added that other religions were also free to hold their worship services on campus.
The Registrar said Wisconsin could offer training on demand to churches and had various scholarships available for church members. He added that student volunteers were also available to assist churches in community activities.

On behalf of the visiting church leaders, Pastor Joshua Heward-Mills of First Love Church, thanked Wisconsin for the invitation. He charged the institution to make a deliberate effort to cater for students’ spiritual needs by inviting religious institutions on campus to hold services and other enrichment and counselling events.

Church leaders who attended the breakfast were Rev. Richard Whitcomb (Agape House), Rev. Fr. William A. Aggrey (St Thomas Aquinas Catholic Church), Rev. Fr. Wilmer Siriban Cacao, SMA (Queen of Peace Catholic Church, Madina) and Pr. Freeman K. Worlanyo (Winners Chapel International, Madina).

Pr. Daniel Odamu Osew (Madina Central Assemblies of God) and Pr. Joshua Heward-Mills (First Love Church), Rev. Mrs. Agnes Phillips (Legon Interdenominational Church) and Rev. Reuben Asare (Trinity Baptist Church) were also in attendance.
Also present were Wisconsin’s Christian Fellowship patrons Rev. Isaac Yawson (Wisconsin Business School) and Mrs Mateko Ocantey (Faculty of Computing and Technology).